Help, I hate my child's grandparents

For problems with any other type of relative, neighbours, teachers, the milkman!
Forum rules
NEW USERS HAVE TO WAIT FOR THEIR FIRST POSTS TO BE APPROVED BY AN ADMINISTRATOR. Rules | Essential Information | FAQ | Support | Twitter

Help, I hate my child's grandparents

Postby samcleo » Sat Aug 14, 2010 5:31 pm

Hi Everyone, this is my very first time on here but I have a problem that has been niggling me for a while now. I split up with my 9 year old's dad when he was 2 years old and we have always had an amicable relationship where they see each other and there are no bad feelings. The problem is my ex's parents. We got on famously when their son and I were together and for many years after we split up. My son adores them and they adore him and he loves to stay with them every Friday night. A few years ago, however, my ex's parents and I had an argument and they showed some pretty nasty colours I never knew existed in them. They said some horrible things about me and when my mum intervened to defend me they were nasty to her too. Apologies were made and I did my best to try and forgive them and for a while it worked. But the more I see them the more I think of what they said about me and the more I hate them. It has got so bad now that I cannot even smile at them when they come and drop my son off on a Saturday morning. I try desperately to hide it in front of my son and say only nice things about them to him. I don't want to know them anymore but I would never stop my son from seeing them and vice versa. They come into my house when they pick my son up or drop him off and I would be happier if they just stayed on the doorstep and collected him that way instead. To me the only link with them is my son and nothing more. I have tried so hard to forgive and be nice to them but I cannot do it anymore. They are very falsely nice with me and that only makes me feel worse. It is making me very stressed and I would be so grateful of any